Tuition and Charges

Tuition Schedule

This schedule is subject to change by the Texas Legislature and the San Jacinto College Board of Trustees.   

Per Semester Credit Hour (TID)
In-District
(TOD)
Out-District
(TOS/TIS)
Out State/International
(T3PT)
Repeat Course
1 $78 $135 $210 $75
2 $156 $270 $420 $150
3 $234 $405 $630 $225
4 $312 $540 $840 $300
5 $390 $675 $1,050 $375
6 $468 $810 $1,260 $450
7 $546 $945 $1,470 $525
8 $624 $1,080 $1,680 $600
9 $702 $1,215 $1,890 $675
10 $780 $1,350 $2,100 $750
11 $858 $1,485 $2,310 $825
12 $936 $1,620 $2,520 $900
13 $1,014 $1,755 $2,730 $975
14 $1,092 $1,890 $2,940 $1,050
15 $1,170 $2,025 $3,150 $1,125
16 $1,248 $2,160 $3,360 $1,200
17 $1,326 $2,295 $3,570 $1,275
18 $1,404 $2,430 $3,780 $1,350
19 $1,482 $2,565 $3,990 $1,425
20 $1,560 $2,700 $4,200 $1,500

Students will still be responsible for course materials, equipment, and other program specific requirements such as textbooks, uniforms, special supplies, background checks, etc.

Estimated Resident In-District Student Expenses

Based on the Following Semester Hours 6 9 12 15
Tuition $468 $702 $936 $1,170
Books (based on four courses @ $175 per course) $350 $525 $700 $875
Total per semester $818 $1,227 $1,636 $2,045
Incremental increase $409 $409 $409

Texas Resident Tuition Rate (TOD) (Out-of-District)

Tuition $135 per semester credit hour.

Students will still be responsible for course materials, equipment, and other program specific requirements such as textbooks, uniforms, special supplies, background checks, etc.

Estimated Resident Out-of-District Student Expenses

(based on the following semester hours) 6 9 12 15
Tuition $810 $1,215 $1,620 $2,025
Books (based on four courses @ $175 per course) $350 $525 $700 $875
Total per semester $1,160 $1,740 $2,320 $2,900
Incremental increase $580 $580 $580

Out-of-State and Other Non-Resident Tuition (TOS, TIS, TUV)

Tuition $210 per semester credit hour.

Students will still be responsible for course materials, equipment, and other program specific requirements such as textbooks, uniforms, special supplies, background checks, etc.

Estimated Out-of-state and Other Non-resident Student Expenses

(based on the following semester hours) 6 9 12 15
Tuition $1,260 $1,890 $2,520 $3,150
Books (based on four courses @ $175 per course) $350 $525 $700 $875
Total per Semester $1,610 $2,415 $3,220 $4,025
Incremental increase $805 $805 $805

Additional Expenses

Students must purchase their own textbooks, workbooks, and supplies such as paper, pencils, and computer storage media. Some courses also include the a textbook and/or will also require that students buy special supplies.

Additional Charges Per Term

  1. Schedule Changes —Schedule changes made prior to the first day of class do not incur additional charges. Any class changes on or after the first class day of the term are subject to the College refund policy, which allows a maximum refund of 70 percent of tuition charges once the term or session has begun. Class changes are considered processed at the time of data entry. The student is considered liable for the appropriate charges. (Students may see the Refund Table for list of charges.)
  2. Parking Permit—Each student will be entitled to a parking permit by submitting a completed parking application to any campus Business office at the time of registration and application of payment. Additional or replacement parking permits may be obtained from any campus Business office. A parking permit must be displayed on each automobile parked on any San Jacinto College campus by a student or for the benefit of a student. The College will impose a fine on any student who fails to comply with parking regulations.
  3. Repeat Course Tuition (T3PT)—San Jacinto College will charge an additional tuition of $75 per credit hour to any course that a student has already attempted twice and that appears on their transcript. The College will assess this additional tuition charge for all registered students as applicable.
  4. Graduation Charge (GRF) - The College will charge a $5 fee for a duplicate diploma.
  5. Installment Payment Plan (IPP) (IPSC) - Students will incur a $25 setup charge when initiating an Installment Payment Plan; the College adds this charge to the total amount of the IPP and assesses the total amount in four payments.
  6. Installment Payment Plan Late Charge (IPLF) - The College will assess a $25 late charge to any unpaid scheduled payments.
  7. Record Duplication (DUP) - The College assesses a $10 record duplication charge for replacement of lost student ID.
  8. Return Check (RTC) - The College assesses a $30 return check charge for any returned check.
  9. Testing Charges - Compass (CTS), Computer Literacy Exam (CLT), Prior Learning Experience (CLE), and General Education Diploma (GED) amounts vary by the type of test. Students may contact their Campus Testing Center.

Excess Credit Hours for Undergraduate Students (30-Hour Rule)

College students who have attempted 30 or more credit hours beyond the minimum number of hours required for their baccalaureate degree requirements at a Texas public senior college or university may be charged additional tuition, up to the level of that institution’s out-of-state charges.

This rule applies to all credit hours in which a student was registered as of the official census day for the term (i.e., 67, dual credit courses, failed courses and courses from which the student withdrew after census day).

Exceptions include:

  • a student’s credit hours received during any term prior to the fall 1999 term;
  • hours earned through examination;
  • hours from college preparatory, technical courses, workforce education courses, or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to a degree at the institution;
  • hours earned at a private or out-of-state institution;
  • any hours removed from admission consideration under Academic Fresh Start (Texas Education Code §51.931); and
  • any hours not eligible for formula funding.

Non-resident students paying tuition at the rate provided for Texas residents are subject to the same limitations as hours generated by resident students.

Texas Education Code §54.014 (§54.068 renumbered in 2006) as updated on July 5, 2006, reflecting changes from the 79th legislative session (House Bill 1172 and Senate Bill 1528, available at www.capitol.state.tx.us) established this option for public senior colleges and universities.

Repeated Courses and Unfunded Credit Hours

Repeat Course Charge for Third Repeat

San Jacinto College will charge a higher tuition rate to students registering for a course for the third or subsequent time. This charge will apply to any course that the student has already attempted twice and that appears on his/her transcript. Upon the third or subsequent enrollment, the College will charge an additional tuition of $75 per credit hour. The College will assess this additional tuition charge for all registered students as applicable.

Students may be charged a higher tuition rate, not to exceed the non-resident undergraduate charge, in the following circumstances:

  • Repeated hours for attempted course: Credit hours for the same course (or a course substantially similar to an earlier course) previously attempted, but not completed (no grade received) for three (3) or more times at the same institution, are not eligible for state reimbursement. Institutions may, with the third and subsequent enrollments, charge an increased tuition rate, not to exceed that charged to non-resident undergraduate students to compensate for the loss of state formula funding.
  • Repeated hours for completed courses: Institutions may also charge students enrolling for the second time in a previously completed course at the same institution an increased tuition rate, not to exceed that charged to non-resident undergraduate students. A completed course is one for which a grade of A, B, C, D, F, FX, or Pass/Fail was earned. This rule applies to all credit hours for classes previously completed regardless of whether the hours may be submitted for formula funding from the state.

The following types of credit hours are exempt and are not subject to these rules:

  1. Hours earned by a student prior to receiving a baccalaureate degree that were awarded previous to the effective date of these changes.
  2. Hours earned through examination or similar methods without registering for a course.
  3. Hours from college preparatory courses, technical courses, workforce education courses or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to a degree at a senior institution.
  4. Hours earned by the student at a private institution or an out-of-state institution.
  5. Any credit hours not normally eligible for state formula funding.

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Rule §13.100-13.109, effective Nov. 22, 2005, reflects changes from the 79th legislative session for public higher education institutions in Texas and amendments to Texas Education Code §54.068 and §61.0595.

Tuition Rebate Program

Students transferring to a Texas senior college or university may qualify for a $1,000 rebate if they have attempted no more than three semester credit hours above the minimum number of hours required for their baccalaureate degree. Attempted hours include every course for which the student has registered as of the official census date in every term, including: college preparatory courses taken for credit, repeated courses, and courses from which the student withdraws and all credit by examination, except for the first nine hours and dual credit courses. Students initiating their undergraduate education at San Jacinto College should carefully follow approved degree plans to maintain eligibility for this program. Senior universities are required to provide students with forms and instructions for requesting the rebate at the time the student applies for a baccalaureate degree.

Texas Education Code §54.0065 established this tuition rebate program for certain undergraduate students, according to legislation passed in 1997 by the 75th Texas Legislature and amended in 2003 by the 78th Texas Legislature. The website www.collegefortexans.com includes more detailed information about the tuition rebate program and also includes a directory of institutional contacts.